Êtes-vous un être humain?

Oui?

Alors, vous devez connaître le virus du papillome humain (VPH)!

Over 75% of Canadians will have one form or another of this virus in their lifetime. People come into contact with this virus, through any skin to skin sexual contact below the waistline with fingers, mouths or other body parts, even without penetration. Condoms give good protection against sexually transmitted infections (STIs), unwanted pregnancies and HPV in general BUT do not fully protect people from this virus because there is still direct skin to skin contact.

 

 

VPH

Les lettres V P H représentent le virus du papillome humain. Ce virus possède plus de 180 sortes différentes numérotées, HPV 1, HPV 2, etc. Une personne entre en contact avec ce virus par n'importe quel contact sexuel peau à peau en dessous de la taille, même sans pénétration, avec les doigts, la bouche ou d'autres parties du corps.Les préservatifs ne protègent pas non plus complètement les personnes contre l'infection ou le virus, car le préservatif ne couvre que la longueur du pénis et il y a encore d'autres parties sous la taille qui auront un contact direct de peau à peau. Pour être clair, une personne entre en contact avec ce virus lorsqu'elle utilise la bouche, les mains ou les doigts sous le tour de taille d'un partenaire. Comme mentionné précédemment, cela comprend également la mise d'un pénis ou d'un objet dans un vagin ou un cul, et le frottement les uns contre les autres avec un contact peau à peau en dessous de la taille, même sans aucune pénétration. Toutes ces choses que les gens font ensemble sous le tour de taille mettent les gens en contact direct, car une personne entre en contact avec ce virus par contact cutané et avec des fluides corporels qui comprennent du pré-sperme et du sperme provenant d'un pénis à chaque fois qu'un homme éjacule et vaginal décharge d'une femelle. Malheureusement, il n'y a généralement aucun signe ou symptôme de ce virus pour aucun des partenaires, qu'il s'agisse d'une femme ou d'un homme

 

Ce virus peut apparaître sous forme de verrues génitales ou ce virus peut entraîner des cancers. Je veux d'abord vous donner des détails sur les verrues génitales, elles peuvent être trouvées n'importe où de la taille jusqu'aux genoux, à l'avant et à l'arrière du corps d'une personne. Les verrues génitales sont de petites bosses surélevées et dures qui poussent en touffes. Ils sont généralement indolores, mais peuvent provoquer des démangeaisons, des brûlures ou de légers saignements. Ce virus peut apparaître sous forme de verrues génitales et se propager sous la taille

par tout contact sexuel peau à peau.

Il existe également certaines sortes de ce virus pouvant entraîner des cancers de la tête, du cou, de la gorge, de la langue, du col de l'utérus, du vagin, de l'anus et du pénis. Il peut rester endormi dans le corps d'une personne jusqu'à 30 ans. Cela signifie que ce que les gens font à l'adolescence, dans la vingtaine, la trentaine, la quarantaine, etc. peut nous revenir dans les années 50, 60, 70 et 80, car cela peut prendre jusqu'à 30 ans avant qu'une personne ne commence à avoir des symptômes. Il est clair que le VPH est très contagieux. La bonne nouvelle est qu'il existe des méthodes de prévention. Je recommande fortement que vous et tout partenaire soyez protégés contre ce virus avec le vaccin contre le VPH. Votre fournisseur de soins de santé peut vous donner plus d'informations sur le vaccin appelé Gardasil 9, il est administré en 3 doses sur une période de 6 mois.


Le papillomavirus humain (VPH) est un virus extrêmement courant. À un certain moment de notre vie, la plupart d'entre nous attraperont le virus. Dans le monde entier, la VPH est le virus sexuellement transmissible le plus répandu; 80% (quatre sur cinq) de la population mondiale contractera une fois un type de virus [1]. Si vous attrapez le VPH, dans la majorité des cas, le système immunitaire du corps s’effacera ou se débarrassera du virus sans qu’il soit nécessaire de poursuivre le traitement. En fait, vous ne savez peut-être même pas que vous avez contracté le virus.

Il existe plus de 100 types de VPH identifiés; un numéro est attribué à chaque type différent. Le VPH infecte la peau et les muqueuses (toutes les membranes humides telles que la muqueuse de la bouche et de la gorge, le col de l'utérus et l'anus). Différents types affectent différentes parties du corps provoquant des lésions. La majorité des types de VPH infectent la peau sur les zones externes du corps, y compris les mains et les pieds. Par exemple, les VPH de types 1 et 2 provoquent des verrues sur les pieds [2].

Environ 40 des types de VPH affectent les zones génitales des hommes et des femmes, y compris la peau du pénis, la vulve (zone à l'extérieur du vagin), l'anus et les doublures du vagin, du col de l'utérus et du rectum [3]. Une vingtaine de ces types seraient associés au développement d'un cancer. L'Association internationale de l'OMS pour la recherche sur le cancer (CIRC) identifie 13 de ces types comme oncogènes (cancérigènes). Cela signifie qu'il existe des preuves directes qu'ils sont associés au développement d'un cancer du col utérin et sont considérés comme à haut risque [4]. Ces types de VPH à haut risque sont: 16, 18, 31, 33, 35, 39, 45, 51, 52, 56, 58, 59 et 68 [5]. Une personne infectée par le VPH à haut risque ne présentera aucun symptôme et ne saura peut-être même pas qu'elle en est atteinte.

De plus, il existe neuf types de VPH qui peuvent également être associés au développement d'un cancer du col de l'utérus: 26, 53, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 73, 82. Cependant, actuellement, il n'y a pas suffisamment de preuves pour indiquer que ces types présentent un risque élevé de cancer du col de l'utérus [6].

Les autres types de VPH ont été désignés à faible risque car ils ne provoquent pas de cancer du col de l'utérus, mais ils peuvent causer d'autres problèmes tels que les verrues génitales

Le Col de l'utérus

Le col de l'utérus (ou col de l'utérus) est la partie inférieure et étroite de l'utérus qui se joint à l'extrémité supérieure du vagin. L'ouverture du col de l'utérus s'appelle l'orifice. L'or cervical permet au sang menstruel de s'écouler du vagin pendant les menstruations. Pendant la grossesse, l'orifice cervical se ferme pour aider à garder le fœtus dans l'utérus jusqu'à la naissance. Pendant le travail, le col se dilate ou s'élargit pour permettre le passage du bébé de l'utérus au vagin. Environ la moitié de la longueur du col est visible avec un équipement médical approprié; le reste se trouve au-dessus du vagin hors de vue.

Le col de l'utérus est recouvert d'une couche de cellules semblables à la peau sur sa surface externe, appelée «ectocervix». Il existe également des cellules glandulaires qui tapissent l'intérieur du col de l'utérus, appelées endocervix. Ces cellules produisent du mucus. Les cellules ressemblant à la peau de l'ectocervix peuvent devenir cancéreuses, conduisant à un cancer du col de l'utérus à cellules squameuses. Ou les cellules glandulaires de l'endocervix peuvent devenir cancéreuses, conduisant à un adénocarcinome du col de l'utérus.

L'ectocervix et l'endocervix ont trois couches ou zones cutanées principales:

Les cellules de la couche basale sont produites ici. Les cellules plus anciennes sont poussées vers la surface. Si vous contractez le VPH, le virus attaquera la cellule de la couche basale.
Zone médiane - la couche intermédiaire des cellules. Lorsque les cellules remontent de la couche basale, elles perdent leur capacité à se diviser, ce qui les rend pleinement matures.
Zone superficielle - La surface la plus haute du col de l'utérus où les cellules matures finissent par mourir et se délestent dans le processus normal de délestage de la peau [1]. Le dépistage cervical prélève des cellules de cette zone.

La zone où les cellules cervicales sont le plus susceptibles de devenir cancéreuses est appelée la zone de transformation. Il s'agit de la zone située juste autour de l'ouverture du col utérin qui mène au canal endocervical (le passage étroit qui monte du col de l'utérus à l'utérus). La zone de transformation est la zone sur laquelle votre médecin ou votre infirmière se concentrera pendant le dépistage cervical.

Le vagin est le tube de l'extérieur du corps à l'entrée de l'utérus. Les cellules semblables à la peau qui recouvrent le col de l'utérus se joignent à la peau recouvrant l'intérieur du vagin, donc même si vous avez eu l'utérus et le col de l'utérus, vous pouvez toujours avoir des échantillons de dépistage prélevés du haut du vagin.

Les vaccins contre le VPH et la prévention des cancers

Le VPH provoque 9 types différents de cancers et de verrues génitales. La vaccination contre le VPH est la meilleure protection contre ce virus. Il y a des avantages pour les personnes de tous âges. Le vaccin protège les gens contre les différents types de virus avec lesquels ils n'ont pas déjà été en contact. Si une personne a éliminé une infection liée au VPH (verrues génitales ou pré-cancer lié au VPH), le vaccin aidera contre la réinfection. De plus, si vous avez un col de l'utérus, le dépistage systématique, vacciné ou non, peut aider à détecter le cancer du col de l'utérus

Dépistage cervical (frottis)

Le dépistage cervical n'est PAS un test pour détecter un cancer. Il s'agit d'un test de dépistage pour détecter des anomalies (précancéreuses) à un stade précoce dans les cellules du col de l'utérus.

Le dépistage cervical est le processus consistant à prélever un échantillon de cellules de votre col qui sont ensuite examinées pour détecter des anomalies qui pourraient évoluer en cancer à l'avenir. L'échantillon de cellules est placé dans un liquide afin de pouvoir être analysé en laboratoire. Ce processus est appelé cytologie en phase liquide (CPL ). Le dépistage peut détecter des cellules précancéreuses / anormales et la détection et le traitement réussi de ces cellules préviennent généralement la survenue d'un cancer. Les changements dans ces cellules sont généralement causés par certains types de papillomavirus humain (VPH). Le test du virus VPH lui-même peut également être effectué sur le même échantillon de LBC qui est examiné au microscope. Pour plus d'informations sur les tests VPH, cliquez ici.

Environ 1 408 nouveaux cas de cancer du col de l'utérus sont diagnostiqués chaque année au Canada [1]. Un dépistage cervical régulier offre un degré élevé de protection contre le développement d'un cancer du col utérin. Ne pas faire de dépistage cervical est l'un des principaux facteurs de risque de développer un cancer du col utérin.

Cellules cervicales anormales et traitement

Le col de l'utérus est recouvert d'une couche de cellules semblables à la peau sur sa surface externe, appelée l'ectocervix. Les résultats de votre test de dépistage cervical sont basés sur l'examen des cellules de la surface de l'ectocervix. Le test détecte la présence de cellules anormales.

Les cellules qui se trouvent dans le canal cervical sont appelées cellules endocervicales (cellules glandulaires), elles sont différentes de l'ectocervix. La zone de transformation est la zone à partir de laquelle l'endocervix rencontre l'ectocervix. C'est là que les cellules glandulaires se transforment normalement en cellules squameuses de l'ectocervix. Rarement, certaines femmes ont des cellules endocervixes anormales et ces zones anormales sont appelées modifications glandulaires.

Cancer du col utérin

Le cancer du col utérin se forme dans les tissus du col de l'utérus. Le col de l'utérus est un organe qui relie l'utérus et le vagin. Il s'agit généralement d'un cancer à croissance lente qui peut ou non présenter des symptômes, mais qui peut être évité grâce à un dépistage régulier (une procédure dans laquelle les cellules sont prélevées du col de l'utérus et examinées au microscope).

Le cancer du col utérin n'est pas considéré comme héréditaire. [1][2][3]

99,7% des cancers du col utérin sont causés par une persistante, papillomavirus humain à haut risque (VPH) infection qui provoque des modifications des cellules cervicales. Le VPH est un virus extrêmement courant; environ quatre personnes sur cinq sont exposées au virus. Quiconque est sexuellement actif peut être infecté par le VPH à un moment donné et le système immunitaire de l'organisme le clarifie généralement. En général, la plupart des gens ne savent même pas qu’ils ont contracté le virus.

Anomalies cervicales sont causés par une infection persistante à haut risque par le VPH. Ces cellules anormales trouvées à travers dépistage cervical ne sont pas cancéreuses, mais compte tenu du temps (souvent des années), elles peuvent évoluer en cancer. Cependant, souvent, les cellules reviennent à la normale par elles-mêmes.

La méthode la plus efficace de prévention du cancer du col utérin consiste à effectuer un dépistage cervical régulier qui permet de détecter tout changement précoce du col de l'utérus et pour les femmes plus jeunes, la vaccination contre le VPH peut aider à prévenir sept cancers du col utérin sur dix (70%). Le cancer du col utérin est en grande partie évitable et, s'il est détecté tôt, les taux de survie sont élevés.

Colposcopie

Si vous avez reçu un résultat de dépistage cervical anormal ou si votre infirmière praticienne a visuellement remarqué des changements dans votre col de l'utérus, vous pouvez être invité à se rendre à une clinique de colposcopie.

La colposcopie est simplement un aperçu plus détaillé du col de l'utérus. Au lieu de regarder le col de l'utérus à l'œil nu, la personne effectuant la colpscopie utilisera un microscope spécial pour voir les changements à fort grossissement avec un bon éclairage. Ne vous inquiétez pas du son! Le microscope reste en dehors de votre corps. Tout ce qui se trouve à l'intérieur est le spéculum, qui est l'instrument utilisé par votre médecin généraliste ou votre infirmière pour voir votre col lors de votre dépistage cervical. Certaines cliniques peuvent être équipées de matériel vidéo afin que vous puissiez regarder l'examen si vous le souhaitez. L'examen peut prendre un peu plus longtemps qu'un test de dépistage cervical standard, mais le colposcopiste (un médecin ou une infirmière spécialement formé pour entreprendre la colposcopie) effectuant la colposcopie vous parlera comme vous pendant l'examen et vous dira ce qui se passe.

Vous devriez être pris en charge par du personnel dédié à la clinique de colposcopie. Ils comprendront que vous pourriez être inquiet et prendront le temps de discuter de votre résultat de dépistage avant l'examen. Vous serez examiné sur un canapé spécialement conçu. Le col de l'utérus est examiné à l'aide d'un spéculum (l'instrument inséré dans le vagin qui a également été utilisé lors de votre test de dépistage cervical), puis examiné avec le colposcope à faible grossissement (4-6X). Le colposcopiste mettra un certain nombre de solutions différentes sur le col et recherchera les changements qui indiquent la présence ou non de changements dans les cellules. Le terme médical pour les changements cervicaux est néoplasie intra-épithéliale cervicale (CIN).

En savoir plus sur les tests effectués en colposcopie, cliquez ici.

Aller de l'avant, soutien et style de vie.

Références

VPH.

  1. Koutsky L. 1997. Epidemiology of genital human papillomavirus infection. The American Journal of Medicine, 102 (5A), 3-8.
  2. Lacey CJ et al., 2006. Chapter 4: Burden and management of non-cancerous HPV-related conditions: HPV-6/11 disease. Vaccine, 24 (3), S3/35-41.
  3. Giuliano AR et al., 2008. Epidemiology of human papillomavirus infection in men, cancers other than cervical and benign conditions. Vaccine, 26 (10), K17-28.
  4. Walboomers JMM et al.,1999 Human papillomavirus is a necessary cause of invasive cancer worldwide. Journal of Pathology, 189 (1), 12–19.
  5. Szarewski A. 2012. Cervarix: a bivalent vaccine against HPV types 16 and 18, with cross-protection against other high-risk HPV types. Expert Review Vaccines 11(6), 645 – 657.
  6. Bouvard et al., 2009. A review of human carcinogens – Part B: biological agents. Lancet Oncology 10, 321 – 32

Cervix.

  1. Dunleavey R (2009) Cervical Cancer: a guide for nurses. Wiley-Blackwell, UK. pp

Dépistage cervical.

  1. Bruni L, Barrionuevo-Rosas L, Albero G, Aldea M, Serrano B, Valencia S, Brotons M, Mena M, Cosano R, Muñoz J, Bosch FX, de Sanjosé S, Castellsagué X. ICO Information Centre on HPV and Cancer (HPV Information Centre). Human Papillomavirus and Related Diseases in Canada. Summary Report 2014-12-18.

Cancer du col utérin.

  1. Magnusson P et al., 1999. Genetic link to cervical tumours. Nature 400, 29-30.
  2. Walboomers JMM, et al., 1999. Human papillomavirus is a necessary cause of invasive cancer worldwide. Journal of Pathology, 189 (1), 12–19.
  3. Bosch FX et al. 2002., The causal relation between human papillomavirus and cervical cancer. Journal of Clinical Pathology 55, 244-265

FR
EN FR

Are you human

Over 75% of Canadians will have one form or another of this virus in their lifetime. People come into contact with this virus through any skin-to-skin sexual contact below the waistline with fingers, mouths or other body parts – even without penetration. Condoms offer good protection against sexually transmitted infections (STIs), unwanted pregnancies and HPV in general BUT do not fully protect people from transmitting this virus because there is still direct skin-to-skin contact.

 

 

HPV

The letters H P V stand for the Human PapillomaVirus. This virus has over 180 different strains that are numbered, HPV 1, HPV 2, and so on. A person comes into contact with this virus through any skin-to-skin sexual contact below the waistline with fingers, mouth or other body parts – even without penetration. Condoms do not fully protect people from giving/getting this virus because the condom only covers the length of the penis; there are still other parts below the waist that will have direct skin-to-skin contact. This certainly includes inserting a penis or an object into a vagina or anus, as well as rubbing skin-to-skin against each other below the waistline without any penetration. This type of touching puts people in direct contact with this virus due to the skin-to-skin touching and exchange of bodily fluids (pre-cum and semen that comes from a penis each time a male ejaculates and vaginal discharge from a female). Unfortunately, there typically are no signs or symptoms of this virus for either partner, regardless of sex or gender.

A person can contract HPV simply through sexual contact between the genitals and the fingers, mouth or other body parts… even without penetration

This virus could appear as genital warts or lead to certain cancers. Genital warts can be found anywhere from the waist down to the knees, at the front and back of a person’s body. Genital warts are small, raised, hard lumps that grow in clumps. They are usually painless but may cause itching, burning, or light bleeding. This virus can manifest itself as genital warts and spread below the waistline through any skin-to-skin sexual contact.

There are also some strains of this virus that can lead to cancers of the head, neck, throat, tongue, cervix, vagina, anus, and penis. It can be asleep in a person’s body for up to 30 years. This means what we do in our teens, 20s, 30s, or 40s can affect us in our 50s, 60s, 70s and 80s simply because it can take up to 30 years before developing symptoms. It is clear that HPV is highly contagious. The good news is that there are preventative methods. I strongly recommend that you and any partner be protected from this virus with the HPV vaccine. Your health care provider can give you more information about a vaccine called Gardasil 9. It is given in 3 doses over a 6-month period.

Human Papillomavirus (HPV) is an extremely common virus. At some point in our life, most of us will catch the virus. The world over, HPV is the most widespread sexually transmitted virus; 80% (four out of five) of the world’s population will contract some type of the virus once [1]. If you catch HPV, in the majority of cases, the body’s immune system will clear or get rid of the virus without the need for further treatment. In fact, you may not even know that you had contracted it.

There are over 100 identified types of HPV; each different type has been assigned a number. HPV infects the skin and mucosa (any moist membranes such as the lining of the mouth and throat, the cervix and the anus). Different types affect different parts of the body causing lesions. The majority of HPV types infect the skin on external areas of the body including the hands and feet. For example, HPV types 1 and 2 cause verrucas on the feet [2].

Around 40 of the HPV types affect the genital areas of men and women, including the skin of the penis, vulva (area outside the vagina), anus, and the linings of the vagina, cervix, and rectum [3]. Around 20 of these types are thought to be associated with the development of cancer. The WHO International Association for Research on Cancer (IARC) identifies 13 of these types as oncogenic (cancer causing). This means there is direct evidence that they are associated with the development of cervical cancer and are considered high-risk [4]. These high risk types of HPV are: 16, 18, 31, 33, 35, 39, 45, 51, 52, 56, 58, 59, and 68 [5]. A person infected with high-risk HPV will show no symptoms so they may never even know they have it.

Additionally there are nine HPV types that may also be associated with the development of cervical cancer these are types: 26, 53, 64, 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 73, 82. However, currently there is not enough evidence to indicate that these types are high risk for cervical cancer [6].

The remaining HPV types have been designated low-risk as they do not cause cervical cancer but they can cause other problems such as genital warts.

The Cervix

The cervix (or neck of the uterus) is the lower, narrow part of the uterus which connects to the top end of the vagina. The opening of the cervix is called the os. The cervical os allows menstrual blood to flow out from the vagina during menstruation. During pregnancy, the cervical os closes to help keep the foetus in the uterus until birth. During labour, the cervix dilates – or widens – to allow the passage of the baby from the uterus to the vagina. Approximately half the cervix length is visible with appropriate medical equipment; the remainder lies above the vagina beyond view.

The cervix is covered with a layer of skin-like cells on its outer surface, called the ‘ectocervix’. There are also glandular cells lining the inside of the cervix called the endocervix; these cells produce mucus. The skin-like cells of the ectocervix can become cancerous, leading to squamous cell cervical cancer. As well, the glandular cells of the endocervix can become cancerous, leading to an adenocarcinoma of the cervix.

The ectocervix and endocervix have a three main skin layers or zones:

The Basal Layer – cells are produced here. Older cells are pushed up towards the surface. If you contract HPV, the virus will attack the basal layer cell.
Midzone – the middle layer of cells. As cells move up from the basal layer they lose their capacity to divide making them fully mature cell.
Superficial Zone – The uppermost surface of the cervix where mature cells eventually die and shed in the normal process of skin shedding [1]. Cervical screening takes cells from this area.

The area where cervical cells are most likely to become cancerous is called the transformation zone. This is the area just around the opening of the cervix that leads on to the endocervical canal (the narrow passageway that runs up from the cervix into the womb). The transformation zone is the area that your doctor or nurse will concentrate on during cervical screening.

The vagina is the tube extending from the outside of the body to the entrance to the womb. The skin-like cells that cover the cervix join with the skin covering the inside of the vagina; so, even if you have had your womb and cervix removed, you can still have screening samples taken from the top of the vagina.

The HPV Vaccines and Preventing Cancers

HPV causes 9 different types of cancers and genital warts. HPV vaccination is the best protection from this virus. There are benefits for people of all ages. The vaccine protects people from being affected by different types of the virus with which they have not already come into contact. If a person has cleared an HPV-related infection (genital warts or an HPV-related pre-cancer), the vaccine will help against reinfection. Furthermore, if you have a cervix, getting routine screening, whether vaccinated or not, can help detect cervical cancer.

Cervical Screening (Smear Test)

Cervical screening is NOT a test to find cancer. It is a screening test to detect abnormalities (pre-cancer) at an early stage in the cells of the cervix.

Cervical screening is the process of taking a sample of cells from your cervix, which are then examined to detect abnormalities that could develop into cancer in the future. The sample of cells is placed in a liquid so that it can be analysed in the laboratory. This process is called Liquid-Based Cytology (LBC). Screening can detect precancerous/abnormal cells. The detection and successful treatment of these cells usually prevent the occurrence of cancer. Changes in these cells are generally caused by certain types of human papillomavirus (HPV). Testing for the HPV virus itself can also be done on the same LBC sample that is examined under the microscope. For more information on HPV testing click here.

Around 1,408 new cervical cancer cases are diagnosed annually in Canada [1]. Regular cervical screening provides a high degree of protection against developing cervical cancer. Not receiving cervical screening is one of the biggest risk factors for developing cervical cancer.

Abnormal Cervical Cells and Treatment

The cervix is covered with a layer of skin-like cells on its outer surface, called the ectocervix. The results of your cervical screening test are based on the examination of the cells from the surface of the ectocervix. The test detects whether abnormal cells are present.

Cells that are found in the cervical canal are called endocervical cells (glandular cells); these are different from the ectocervix. The transformation zone is the area from where the endocervix meets the ectocervix. This is where glandular cells normally change to squamous cells of the ectocervix. Rarely, some women have endocervix cells that are abnormal and these abnormal areas are called glandular changes.

Cervical Cancer

Cervical cancer forms in the tissues of the cervix. The cervix is an organ that connects the uterus and vagina. It is usually a slow-growing cancer that may or may not have symptoms but can be prevented through regular screening (a procedure in which cells are taken from the cervix and looked at under a microscope).

Cervical cancer is not thought to be hereditary. [1][2][3]

99.7% of cervical cancers are caused by the persistent high risk human papillomavirus (HPV) infection which causes changes to the cervical cells. HPV is an extremely common virus; around four out of five people are exposed to the virus. Anyone who is sexually active can be infected with HPV at some time and the body’s immune system will usually clear it up. Generally, most people don’t even know they have contracted the virus.

Cervical abnormalities are caused by persistent high-risk HPV infection. These abnormal cells found through cervical screening are not cancerous but, given time (often years), they may go on to develop into cancer. However, the cells often return to normal by themselves.

The most effective method of preventing cervical cancer is through regular cervical screening which allows for the detection of any early changes of the cervix. For younger women, the HPV vaccination can help prevent seven out of ten cervical cancers (70%). Cervical cancer is largely preventable and, if caught early, survival rates are high.

Colposcopy

If you have received an abnormal cervical screening result or if your practice nurse has visually noticed changes in your cervix, you may be invited to attend a colposcopy clinic.

Colposcopy is simply a more detailed look at the cervix. Instead of looking at the cervix with the naked eye, the person performing the colposcopy will use a special microscope to see the changes at high magnification and with good lighting. Don’t worry about the sound of this! The microscope stays outside of your body. All that is inserted is the speculum, which is the instrument the GP or practice nurse uses to see the cervix during the cervical screening. Some clinics may be equipped with video equipment so that you can watch the examination, if you wish. The examination may take a little longer than a standard cervical screening test but the colposcopist (a doctor or nurse specifically trained to undertake a colposcopy) will talk to you during the examination and tell you what is happening.

You should be looked after by the dedicated staff of the colposcopy clinic. They will understand that you may be worried and will take the time to discuss your screening result before the examination. You will be examined on a purpose-built couch. The cervix is viewed using a speculum (the instrument inserted into the vagina, which was also used when you had your cervical screening test taken) and then examined with the colposcope at low magnification (4-6X). The colposcopist will put a number of different solutions on the cervix and look for changes that indicate the presence or otherwise of changes to the cells. The medical term for cervical changes is cervical intra-epithelial neoplasia (CIN).

Read more about the tests done at colposcopy, click here.

After a diagnosis, Support and LifeStyle.

References

HPV.

  1. Koutsky L. 1997. Epidemiology of genital human papillomavirus infection. The American Journal of Medicine, 102 (5A), 3-8.
  2. Lacey CJ et al., 2006. Chapter 4: Burden and management of non-cancerous HPV-related conditions: HPV-6/11 disease. Vaccine, 24 (3), S3/35-41.
  3. Giuliano AR et al., 2008. Epidemiology of human papillomavirus infection in men, cancers other than cervical and benign conditions. Vaccine, 26 (10), K17-28.
  4. Walboomers JMM et al.,1999 Human papillomavirus is a necessary cause of invasive cancer worldwide. Journal of Pathology, 189 (1), 12–19.
  5. Szarewski A. 2012. Cervarix: a bivalent vaccine against HPV types 16 and 18, with cross-protection against other high-risk HPV types. Expert Review Vaccines 11(6), 645 – 657.
  6. Bouvard et al., 2009. A review of human carcinogens – Part B: biological agents. Lancet Oncology 10, 321 – 32

Cervix.

  1. Dunleavey R (2009) Cervical Cancer: a guide for nurses. Wiley-Blackwell, UK. pp

Cervical Screening.

  1. Bruni L, Barrionuevo-Rosas L, Albero G, Aldea M, Serrano B, Valencia S, Brotons M, Mena M, Cosano R, Muñoz J, Bosch FX, de Sanjosé S, Castellsagué X. ICO Information Centre on HPV and Cancer (HPV Information Centre). Human Papillomavirus and Related Diseases in Canada. Summary Report 2014-12-18.

Cervical Cancer.

  1. Magnusson P et al., 1999. Genetic link to cervical tumours. Nature 400, 29-30.
  2. Walboomers JMM, et al., 1999. Human papillomavirus is a necessary cause of invasive cancer worldwide. Journal of Pathology, 189 (1), 12–19.
  3. Bosch FX et al. 2002., The causal relation between human papillomavirus and cervical cancer. Journal of Clinical Pathology 55, 244-265

EN
FR EN